saving a legacy…

I grew up in Birmingham, Alabama. Most of my time was spent out in the suburbs, but my true love was always in the city. The intricate old buildings, the feel of history, just the richness of the whole place – I couldn’t get enough.

It’s been many years since I left Birmingham for Atlanta, but I always enjoy going back and visiting – especially when so many amazing things are happening in my hometown! For one, in the wake of the new home for the Birmingham Barons, there is now a charming spot next to Regions Field: ‘Railroad Park’. It’s gorgeous, and such a great location for any number of activities.

But the main focus of this post is the renovation of the Lyric Theatre. My uncle, one of the coolest guys I know, has the singularly fabulous job of helming the renovation project. The whole campaign is called “Light up the Lyric”, and you can find out more about it HERE. Seriously, check it out – he’s doing amazing work!

I have a long-standing love affair with the theatre, both participation and the spaces themselves. I’ve never met a theatre I didn’t like, and this trip was no exception. I was captivated by the story of the Lyric, and the sense of history that envelops you as soon as you walk through the doors.

I consider myself extremely fortunate to have been afforded the opportunity to tour around the Lyric in its current state, and I cannot WAIT until the project is complete and this beautiful landmark is whole once again.

The Lyric is not, currently, open to the public… So hopefully this gallery will help bring a bit of the enchantment to you.

(The first couple of pictures are from the jaunt around Railroad Park, and then a couple from the Alabama Theatre, another of Birmingham’s treasures, located across the street from the Lyric.)

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

